Thursday, August 30, 2007

The Best Time for a Conference Call

How do you schedule your conference calls? Sometimes scheduling is easy, like when everyone is in the same time zone or only an hour apart. But what about bicoastal or international calls?

If your call just needs to link together offices that span North America, consider 10 or 11 AM PST (1 or 2 PM EST). This makes it a lunchtime call for those on Central Standard Time, but at least everyone can be in the office without worrying about arriving early or running late.

The frequently cited best time for an international conference call is 6 a.m. PST. At this time, the times around the world are:
  • Americas - 6 AM Pacific (Seattle, Los Angeles), 8 AM Central (Chicago, Houston) 9 AM Eastern (New York, DC, Miami)
  • Europe - 2 PM GMT
  • South Africa - 3 PM
  • Middle East - 4 PM (Riyadh)
  • India - 6:30 PM
  • Singapore - 9 PM
  • Japan - 10 PM
  • Australia - 11 PM (Canberra)
Sure, Los Angeles and Canberra get the shortest end of this stick, but at least it's the same day for everyone on the call.

Any other conference scheduling tips and tricks you'd like to share? Feel free to post them in the comments.

5 comments:

Nicky Paul said...

A phone call is a phone bring in which somebody converses with a few individuals in the meantime. The telephone calls might be intended to permit the called gathering to take an interest amid the call, or the ring might be set so that the called party simply listens into the call and can't talk. It is here and there called ATC (sound video chat).

Conference Calling Plugin

Unknown said...

Thank you for some other informative blog. Where else could I get that type of information written in such an ideal means? I have a mission that I’m just now working on, and I have been at the look out for such information. Easy conference calls

amar555 said...

yes evening time is the best time to set up conference call services in india

ARJUN said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Bhanu said...
This comment has been removed by the author.